The Department of History, as part of Ravenshaw University at present offers UG, PG, M.Phil and Ph.D programmes. There are 32 seats at UG, 64 seats at PG and eight seats at M. Phil level. At the master level, Modern and Contemporary History as well as Ancient Indian History and Archaeology are offered as special papers. The faculty position of the department comprises of one Professor, two Associate Professors and six Assistant Professors. Department has a library of about 1500 titles and is planning to develop an Archive on Contemporary South Asia and an Archaeological Museum. The Department has started publishing a journal titled Anekantanubhuti: A Journal on South Asian History, Society and Culture. :

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) - History

  • Duration: 3 year
  • Total number of seats: 32

Eligibility :

50% marks in aggregate in the qualifying examination (Higher Secondary) without the mark in extra optional, if any

Master of Arts (M.A.) - History

  • Duration: 2 year
  • Total number of seats: 64

Eligibility :

Admission into these subjects requires second class honours with minimum 50% marks in that Honours subject. However, those who dont have Honours in that subject but have passed graduation with 50% or more in aggregate in any subject at graduation level from a UGC/AICTE recognized institution, are also eligible to apply.

M. Phil.

  • Duration: 1 year
  • Total number of seats: 08

Eligibility :

The duration of M.Phil. programme is two semesters. The first semester is devoted to course work, as per the UGC guidelines. The second semester is used for writing a dissertation.


A student who was earlier admitted/ has passed one Postgraduate course in one subject from Ravenshaw University will not be allowed to apply for admission into another Undergraduate/ Postgraduate course in this University. If any such violation is detected later, the admission will stand cancelled.

Ph.D. :

The seats are declared before admission depending on the vacancies available with the supervisors. 

For details, refer “Ravenshaw University M.Phil./Ph.D. regulations, 2021”