Overview & History

Year of Establishment: 1929

Adhyapaka Kashinath Dash spearheaded the teaching of Sanskrit at Ravenshaw College after his Master’s degree in the year 1907 from Calcutta University. Later eminent scholars like Artaballabha Mohanty, Laxmikanta Choudhury and Karunakar Kar joined the Department. Subsequently the department came to offer courses in Sanskrit and Odia in the year 1929. In 1938 Kunja Bihari Tripathi joined the department and could lead it to the heights of glory and excellence in teaching and research both in Sanskrit and Odia. He worked with Professor A. Master and Professor J. Brough of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) at the University of London on “Early Oriya Inscriptions.” His work helped Odia language to achieve the status of classical language in the year 2014. After his retirement an independent Department for Sanskrit was set up in the year 1968. Ravenshaw Autonomous College was upgraded to University in the year 2006 and the scholars like Brajasundar Mishra, Judhistir Sahu and Subhasree Dash  joined the Department in the year 2013 .Thereafter  Master Degree in Sanskrit (M.A) was introduced in the year 2013 and subsequently M.Phil and Ph.D. programmes were introduced  in the year  2015. 

Heads of The Department

Dr. Sabitri Rout

Dr. Kanakalata Devi

Dr. Rabi Prasad Mishra

Dr. Manjushree Tripathy

Dr. Brajasundar Mishra

Dr. Subhasree Dash

( 2016-2018)

Dr Judhistir Sahu