Overview & History

The Department of ITM was established under the School of Information and Computer Sciences in the year 1999, to foster a blend of Information Technology and Management courses. Such a mix of two pedagogically different subjects makes it unique in itself. The Department offers two undergraduate programmes, B.Sc. Information Technology and Management (ITM), and B.Sc. Data Science and Management (DSM) in self-financing mode. In addition, the Department offers post-graduate program M.Sc. information technology (M.Sc. IT) in self-financing mode. The full-time teaching faculty are supported by four demonstrators, an office assistant, one library assistant and three attendants. The faculty have a robust academic and technical background with extensive experience in the software industry. The Department owes its success to its technical and infrastructural facilities. The Department has its own library with over 5000 titles. All the books in the library have been barcoded, and the issue and return of books have been automated. There are nine classrooms with 24 x 7 Wi-Fi connectivity. There are well-equipped computer caboratories with 170 systems.

Apart from this the Department has a multimedia projector, printer, portable audio system, desktops and generator adding towards the effective teaching-learning process. The intake capacity B.Sc. ITM and DSM are 272 and 64 respectively on a self-financing mode while that for postgraduate ITM is 48. The department has witnessed 80% student placement record since its origin. Some of the top recruiters over the years have been Deloitte, Gemini, Infosys, Wipro, Concentrix and Piramal Foundation.

Heads of The Department

Prof. Girish Chandra Bose

Prof. Raisaheb Jogeschandra Rai


Prof. Pranakrushna Parija

1921 - 1938

Prof. Debabrata Mukherjee

1938 - 1940