Overview & History

The Department of Mathematics is one of the oldest and prestigious departments of erstwhile Ravenshaw College, established in 1868 and now Ravenshaw University since 2006. It was established in 1925 with Prof. S.K. Ganguli as Professor and Head of the Department. Mathematics being an indispensable tool to comprehend almost all streams of Science/Technology, viz., Industrial Engineering, Biological Systems, Climate Science, Economics, finance, Computer Science, Information Technology, etc., the department strives. Not only to educate the students of mathematics but also to cater the academic requirement of many disciplines of this university. The department is on course to be a centre of excellence by promoting teaching and research activities by actively collaborating with reputed academic and research institutes of India and abroad. The objectives of the department include instilling mathematical culture and temperament in our society, enhance problem solving skills, making a sound foundation of mathematics and develop thinking potentials among the students to offer solution of many modern day problems arising in different strata of life. The department currently runs B.A./ B.Sc (Mathematics Honours), B.A./B.Sc. B.Ed. (Mathematics Honours), M.A./M.Sc., M. Phil. and Ph.D. programmes. The current faculty with a dedication to teaching, complement one another with diversified research interests in fields like Analysis, Algebra, Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Analysis,Approximation Theory, Probability and Reliability Theory, Data Science etc.

Heads of The Department

Dr. Subarna Bhattacharjee


Dr. Dwiti Krushna Behera