Year of Establishment: 1931

In its initial years since its establishment in 1931, the Department of Economics was led by British educationists. Later, eminent economists of the country such as Prof. Sadasiva Mishra, Prof. D. C. Mishra and Prof. K. M. Patnaik led the department to heights of glory and excellence in research. The Department has a sanctioned faculty strength of 14 teachers including one professor, four associate professors and nine assistant professors. The faculty members remain engaged in research projects funded by several national and international agencies and have more than 500 publications to their credit in national and international reputed journals /books. Besides offering UG, PG, M. Phil and Ph. D. programmes in Economics, the Department has been running a professional programme, M.A. in Rural Development, with intake capacity of 40 students since 2010. The Department has a Quantitative Laboratory with 20 computers, wi-fi facility and a Seminar Library. The Seminar bulletin and newsletter “Arthatathya”, which was launched in 2011 publishes articles on contemporary economic issues contributed by students and faculty members. The Department has also been publishing an annual research journal “Ravenshaw Journal of Economics” since 2012.  It also organises national / international seminars, workshops, symposia on a regular basis. In a major boost to its research activities, the Department has been included under UGC-Special Assistance Programme (DRS-1). The focus areas of research include Natural resource management and  Agricultural development of Odisha. 

Detailed Syllabus

B.A. 96 Download
M.A. 84 Download

Faculty Members

DR. DHARMABRATA MOHAPATRA hodeconomics[at]ravenshawuniversity[dot]ac[dot]inAssociate Professor and Head
DR. (MS) LIPISHREE DAS9861460154drlipi_das[at]yahoo[dot]co [dot]inAsst. Prof.(Stage-II)
DR. MANOJ KUMAR DAS9439619650manojdas4[at]yahoo[dot]co[dot]inAsst. Prof.(Stage-II)
DR. CHITTARANJAN NAYAK9861352378chittaranjan[dot]ru[at]gmail[dot]comAsst. Prof.(Stage-II)
DR. ASIS KUMAR SENAPATI9000756856asiseco[at]gmail[dot]comAsst. Prof.(Stage-I)
MS. NIRUPAMA TETE9938641781nirupama[dot]tete[at]yahoo[dot]co[dot]inAsst. Prof.(Stage-I)