Year of Establishment: 1906

UG course in Philosophy began in 1906 when Pandit Nilakanth Das joined as an undergrad student in Ravenshaw College. Today, the department imparts UG, PG, M. Phil and Ph. D. education in various domains of Philosophy. Recently, the Department has taken up Odishan Philosophy as a special area of research. Further, the department has research collaboration with Design and Innovation Center, IIT, Bhubaneswar, for inculcating moral reasoning and ethical values among budding engineers and professionals. The Department has a special Center for Sri Aurobindo Studies and Futurology to engage philosophers, scientists, psychologists and social scientists in mapping the future of mankind. The Department also conducts coaching classes for NET and holds special training for students in spoken English and effective communication.

Detailed Syllabus​


Faculty Members​

DR PATITAPABAN DAS7377074334dildas1[at]yahoo[dot]co[dot]inAsst. Prof.(Stage-II)
DR. HIMANSU SEKHAR SAMAL8984284600h_samal2002[at] yahoo[dot]co[dot]inAsst. Prof.(Stage-I)