Year of Establishment: 1914


Physics first began to be taught in 1906 at the Intermediate level in erstwhile Ravenshaw College. However the Department of Physics was set up with a benevolent grant  of Maharaja Dr. Pratap Chandra Bhanja Deo. While BA Pass and Honours courses were introduced in 1914 and 1930, M. Sc. and M. Phil courses were introduced in 1951 and 1982 respectively. The Ph. D. programme in Physics started in 2008. Famous alumni of the Department include eminent scientists such as Padma Bhusan Prof. J. C. Pati,  Padma Bhusan Prof. Trilochan Pradhan and Prof. Ajit Mohanty (Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre). The Department has collaborated with several national and international institutes and its faculty currently are doing research in front-line areas such as High Energy and Particle Physics, Plasma Physics and Condensed matter Physics, and their research is being funded by agencies such as SERB and DAE-BRNS. The Department has an advanced Plasma lab, Thin film lab as well as a sophisticated computational lab along with a study room and library. Students of M. Sc. Physics can opt for specialisation in Electronics, Plasma Physics, Advance Solid State Physics, Particle Physics and Astro-particle Physics.