Overview & History

The Department of Sociology commenced with the introduction of Sociology as a subject at the intermediate level in 1977. At the UG level, the subject was introduced as an Elective in 1981 and subsequently, the discipline began as an Honours subject in 1982. The Post Graduate programme in the subject was started in 1992. Finally, the Department commenced its MPhil/PhD research programme from the year 2011. The Department houses a library catering to curricular requirements of PG, MPhil and PhD students. Students of Sociology continue to excel in national and international entrance examinations and placements thereby adding to its glory. The worldwide presence of its rich and resourceful alumni stands testimony to its claim. The Department of Sociology, Ravenshaw University is the first in Odisha to host Indian Sociology Congress in 2010 drawing who’s who of Indian Sociology. Besides, the Department keeps organizing weekly lectures, invited talks, symposia, workshops and national conferences on regular basis.

Heads of The Department

Prof. D N Jena

09.12.77 – 25.3.1985

Dr. R N Mohanty




Dr. R K Mohanty

(16.8.2002 – 31.10.2008)

Dr. Kalindi Jena

(01.11.2008 – 16.04.2010)

Prof. .D. R. Sahu

(17.04.2010 – 1.3.2012 )

Prof. Chandi Prasad Nanda


Prof.Mamata Swain


Prof. Pradipta Kumar Mohapatra

(01-06-2013 - 31-05-2014)


Dr. Anita Dash



Dr.Bikram Keshari Mishra

(01.06.15 - 30.06.17)

(01.05.19 - Onwards)