Overview & History

The Department of Economics was set up in the year 1931. In the initial years, the Department was led by the British educationists. Later on eminent economists such as Prof. A. K. Dasgupta, Prof. Sadasiv Mishra, Prof. D. C. Misra and Prof. K. M. Patnaik adorned the chair of Head of the Department, and under their leadership the Department achieved the glory of being one of the best departments in the state as well as in the country.

The Department offers B.A./B.Sc (Hons), M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D and D.Lit programmes in Economics. In addition, it runs a regular MA in Rural Development programme since 2010. The Department was included under UGC-Special Assistance Programme (DRS-1, 2013-18).

Heads of The Department

Prof. W.V. Duke


Prof. H.R. Batheja


Prof. Suresh C. Bardhan


Prof. K. B. Saha


Prof. A. K. Dasgupta


Prof. Sadasiv Mishra


Prof. Devendra Ch. Mishra


Prof. Khetra Mohan Patnaik



Prof. Jayakrushna Mishra



Prof. Surendra Nath Mishra



Prof. Basudeb Sahoo



Prof. Ghanashyam Das


Dr. (Smt) Bedabati Mohanty


Dr. Shibanava Mishra


Prof. Bhabani Prasad Das


Mrs. Sujata Mohanty


Dr. Bharat Ch. Behera


( 2007)

Dr. Manmath Ku. Mohanty


Sri Sarat Kumar Nayak



Prof. Manoranjan Das


Prof. Baikunthaanath Mandal


Prof. Krushna Chandra Mishra


Prof. Premalata Mohanty


Dr. Bimal Kinkar Mohanty


Dr. Sailaja Nandini Jena


Prof. Mamata Swain



Dr.Sudhakar Patra


Dr. Dharmabrata Mohapatra


(2017- Continuing)