Year of Establishment: 1925

Prof. S. K. Ganguli was Professor and Head of the Department when it was established in 1925. The Department offers B.A./B.Sc. (Mathematics Honours), B.A./B.Sc. B. Ed. (Mathematics Honours), M.A./M.Sc., M. Phil. and Ph. D. programmes. Faculty members specialise and conduct research in diverse fields such as Analysis, Algebra, Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Analysis, Approximation Theory, Probability and Reliability Theory. The publications (approximately 150 in number) of the current faculty are important contributions in mathematical research. Our students are the most cherished resource of the Department. Every year students are selected for participating in summer internship and training programmes such as MTTS, TPM, etc. to enrich their knowledge and their problem solving skills in the subject. Our students also pass tests such as GATE, CSIR-UGC (NET), NBHM and are admitted into reputed national research institutes such as NISER, IISER, IITs, NITs and ISM Dhanbad. The Department’s prestige is due, in large measure, to the teaching and research of former eminent faculty members such as late Prof. Ramanath Mohanty and late Prof. Brajabandhu Mishra.

Detailed Syllabus

  B.A./ B.Sc. 32 Download
  B.A./B.Sc. B. Ed.   Download
  M.A./M.Sc. 48 Download

Faculty Members

DR. SUBARNA BHATTACHARJEE 9438004182 subarna[dot]bhatt[at]gmail[dot]com Asst. Prof.(Stage-II)
DR. DWITI KRUSHNA BEHERA 9439065825 dwiti78[at]gmail[dot]com Asst. Prof.(Stage-II) and Head